Bala: I lied.

He called for an impromptu press conference this morning. To revoke his first Statutory Declaration dated July 1. And to make a new Statutory Declaration. And this new one states, to the best of my knowledge, the points stated below:

“I wish to expressly state that at no material time did (Abdul) Razak (Abdullah) Baginda inform me that he was introduced to Altantuya Shaariibuu by a VIP and at no material time did Razak Baginda inform me that Datuk Seri Najib had a sexual relationship with Altantuya Shaaribu and that she was susceptible to anal intercourse.

“At no material time did Razak Baginda inform me that Datuk Seri Najib instructed Razak Baginda to look after Altantuya Shaariibuu as he did not want her to harass him since he was the Deputy Prime Minister.

“At no material time did Razak Baginda and or Altantuya Shaariibuu inform me that Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, together with Razak Baginda and Altantuya Shaariibuu, had met and all been together at a dinner in Paris;

“At no material time did Altantuya Shaariibuu inform me that she wanted money in the sum of US$500,000 as a commission for a submarine deal she assisted with in Paris;

“At no time whatsoever did Razak Baginda and/or Altantuya Shaariibuu inform me that Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak met with Altantuya Shaariibuu in Singapore;

“At no time whatsoever did Altantuya Shaariibuu inform me that she wanted me to arrange to see Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak;

“At no time did I tell the police during the course of their investigations about any relationship between Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak andAltantuya Shaariibuu as no such relationship existed to my knowledge. Accordingly, the statement I signed before the police is complete;

“At no time did Razak Baginda inform me that he had sent Datuk Seri Najib an SMS the evening before he was arrested; and

“At no time did Razak Baginda inform me that Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had sent him an SMS on the day of his arrest to the effect that he was going to see the IGP (Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan) that day and that the matter should be resolved and for Razak Baginda to remain calm.”

Sourced this from The Malaysian Insider. I’m not sure if this link will lead you to the article, because it seems that the server is down at the moment.

Why has Bala changed his stance? He has claimed that he made the first SD under duress.

And together with that, he has also changed his lawyer. His lawyer from yesterday has no idea as to why the sudden change, and here’s what Malaysiakini had to report:

Balasubramaniam’s lawyer has told Malaysiakini that Balasubramaniam was contacted by the police soon after his press conference yesterday. He last saw his client after dropping him off at the Brickfields police station at 4.45pm.

Quoted from Nathaniel Tan’s blog here.

I have yet to find the full SD on the Internet, so I really don’t want to make any harsh comments about this latest development in what is fast becoming the scandal of the year.

I have posed a question to Haris on his blog about the legal implications that this “changing of SD” would have on Bala. This, to me, is tantamount to giving a false declaration under oath, and should warrant a police charge, though I’m not sure if this is a fact, and not sure what Section it should come under. I await for Haris’ reply. If there are any lawyers reading this, I would appreciate some enlightenment.

**Haris has replied to my comment:

The legal implications of the second SD are that, without more, Bala would on the face of it have commited an offence by swearing out the first SD.

Unless the veracity of the second SD is to be thoroughly investigated by the police to ascertain its correctness, and not immediately treated as the correct one, it would follow that Bala should be charged with an offence under the Oaths and Affirmations Act.

Scott Thong has been updating his blog on this issue being posted on other blogs. Almost like a one-stop portal for links to other writings.

This is no joke, and shouldn’t be taken lightly. Making false declarations, whether under duress or not, and then making press statements to make it public knowledge, and then retracting the declaration in barely 24 hours is very serious.

If what he said today is TRUE, and that he was previously forced to make a false SD, will the police file a report against him? Who forced him? Will they investigate? And who/what convinced him to go public with it? And he even stood by it at the press conference yesterday.

If what he said today is FALSE, then who is forcing him to retract his previous SD? Why is he retracting it? Why did he change his lawyer? Does he, or does he not know how serious an offense this can be? (I’m still under the assumption that it is an offense, waiting for someone to either correct me, or confirm it with me)

I have one question for the people/person who are/is pulling the strings behind this. What do you take us Malaysians for? Dungus?


6 Comments on “Bala: I lied.”

  1. […] part of the statutory declaration can be read at I Am Malaysian – Bala: I lied.. (And yes, I am being a one-stop […]

  2. walski69 says:

    The gravy thickens…

    But seriously, it’s all too convenient: damaging SD one day, then retraction of all the Najib related bits the next. Of course, after a visit to the friendly Brickfields police – without his lawyer (which was kind of a dumb thing to do, if you ask me).

    Be that as it may, I actually found your blog via The People’s Parliament, and like what I’ve found so far! Keep up the great writing… and yes, you will find this blog on my blog-roll shortly…

    Peace!
    __________
    I appreciate the vote of confidence!

    And yes, it does seem like a dumb thing to do, to step into a police station without a lawyer, especially after making such explosive claims too!

  3. ibat says:

    There you go, the title should be “Bala: I WAS FORCED to lie”.


Leave a Reply

