Verbal abuse goes unpunished

Before this, I wrote about two students making a police report on their teacher who hurled insults and verbal abuse to them and other students in class. You can find what I wrote HERE.

I ended my piece with this:

Education is one of the most important aspects of nation-building. Let us not allow the system to contain such unacceptable behaviour, and disguise it like as if it doesn’t matter.

Today I read on Lim Kit Siang’s blog, THIS:

BANTING: It obviously pays to hurl racial abuse at students, going by what happened to the teacher who did so at a school here.

The 35-year-old history teacher from SM Telok Panglima Garang was not only transferred to a smart school but to one located nearer her house.

To add insult to injury, no disciplinary action was taken against her.

It is understood that her letter of transfer stated that she was being transferred due to concerns for her security and not because she had committed an offence.

Several parents and non-governmental rganizations gathered in front of the school yesterday demanding an explanation from the headmaster for letting her off with just a slap on the wrist.

However, the headmaster refused to meet them, saying the matter was no longer related to the school since the teacher had been transferred.

This, I believe, is the ostrich approach. Hide, and hope it’ll all just go away. The headmaster is no better when he refused to comment, simply because the teacher was no longer one of his staff.

I think I have said enough in my previous post pertaining this matter, and it doesn’t help to get agitated over the same issue again.

It just seems to me that with this decision, or indecision, they have indirectly, not only allowed for this unacceptable behaviour to happen, they have also disguised it so that it looks like it doesn’t matter.


4 Comments on “Verbal abuse goes unpunished”

  1. Edi神 says:

    this country is crazy…
    if yuou are from certain races, u can get away with crime easily!

  2. warrior2 says:

    Just because of 1 example, LKS said “it pays….” My oh my!

    My thoughts on this is that the first act that needed to be taken was to transfered her out. Now, how can one knows that there isnt going to be any disciplinary action? That it is now being decided upon? Do tell me.

    As for the HM, as far as I am aware, if the matetr is staken up by the state education dept, IT IS beyond her jurisdiction now!
    __________
    The excerpt taken from LKS’s blog is actually an excerpt from an article in NST. My bad for not being clear on that one.

    And as for the matter being taken up by the state edu dept, I don’t know if this is the case. But let’s hope it is.

  3. ibat says:

    No excuse for teachers using insulting or abusive language. Edu Ministry botched this one real good. Then again, we may be jumping the gun cos the proper punishment may yet come. On another note, I don’t feel comfortable with this upside down flag business. If we feel that the country is being poorly run, in ruins etc., depict a flag flown half mast. I feel turning the flag like that is a bordering on ‘biadap’
    _______
    Point on the flag thing taken. One of the other commentators here, humm, has also touched on about the same thing. Have been doing some (or a lot actually) of thinking about it. Will write on it soon.

    Thanks for the note anyway.

  4. justmy2SEN says:

    Edi,

    you’re full of BS..think before you write

    If I can get away with murder, I’d murder you first and feed your BS infected brain to dogs


Leave a Reply

