Completely defeated…

To say that I’m disappointed with Lee Chong Wei’s performance is an understatement. I was expecting a tougher fight at least. Chong Wei conceded the match with 12-21, 8-21. In 39 minutes.

So no, we still don’t get to fly the Malaysian flag in the Olympics arena. We still don’t get to hear our Negaraku being played on loud speakers.

Lin Dan played a marvelous game. Anything less than praise would be being a sore loser. His game was almost flawless.

Perhaps Chong Wei buckled under pressure. Perhaps the Chinese crowd was too overpowering. I wouldn’t know.

I’m disappointed. Really.

But. There’s always a but.

Chong Wei got for us, our first medal for the Beijing Olympics. Not the colour I wanted it to be, but silver’s not too bad.

And I think if anyone’s the most disappointed, it’s got to be Lee Chong Wei himself.

So, yeah. Lee Chong Wei was completely defeated. But he’s still the man.


5 Comments on “Completely defeated…”

  1. Edi神 says:

    The curse of Barisan Nasional! That’s why Lee Chong Wei Lose!!!

  2. Some Observation says:

    I read somewhere that during the semi-final match He had less than 6 hours of sleep. From my point of view, the pressure definitely had a say in his final performance. His real opponent today would have been the pressure on his shoulders. Altogether, still, I am proud of him.

    On another note, just passing this link on a fine article by Dr. Bakri Musa. Maybe you can share it on your site and spread the word:

    http://www.bakrimusa.com/archives/last-chance-to-save-malaysia
    ___________
    Thanks for the link. Will check it out.

  3. Patricia says:

    I missed the match cos I was caught in a jam on the way home. And, I didn’t think it would be over so quickly!

    I agree with you that the LCW is more disappointed with this than we are. I could see it on his face at the medal presentation. Poor boy. My mum says she thinks Lin Dan was way too slick and good polished for him.

    But congratulations, LCW. You gave us our first medal. I hope it is not gonna be our one and only one, though!

  4. KevinP says:

    Between Lin Dan and LCW, its touch and go. The better player would win the match that night and yes… LCW was woeful but got to admit Lin Dan was superb. When you have every shot of yours thrown back in spectacular fashion, you will probably get distracted. LCW had played brilliantly throughout the tournament but he froze in the finals.. thats sad. But on the bright side, This is the FIRST Olympic medal since Atlanta 1994!

  5. bow says:

    He did quite well as far as i am concerned, congratulation Lee Chong Wei! You have given your best shot,i have no complaint about you.


Leave a Reply

