The umpteenth police report against RPK

Now. I’m lost. I’m not Muslim, and have not studied the Quran before. I’ve read SOME of it, but who knows, maybe I was reading the “unofficial” version of it, and since I don’t read Arabic or Jawi, the English interpretation might have been slightly off.

But I’m still lost, even having read SOME parts of the Holy Quran.

I’m lost because I read THIS piece of news:

The Department of Islamic Development (Jakim) and several Muslim bodies lodged a police report here on Friday against Malaysia Today website editor Raja Petra Kamarudin for allegedly insulting the Malays, Muslims and Islam.

“There are articles on his website, which are clearly insulting Islam and the Prophet (Really?). Such views expressed will affect the good relationship Muslims are trying to build with those from the other religions and the Government’s agenda.

“These will also hamper the Prime Minister’s efforts to see more inter-religious understanding,(Are you SURE he wants more inter-religious understanding? The Bar Council Forum sure didn’t seem like it.) he told reporters when met at the police station.

The allegedly offensive articles cited by Jakim were “I promise to be a good, non-hypocritical Muslim” and “Not all Arabs are descendants of the Prophet”.

Among others, Raja Petra wrote “only Muslims pretend to be good when they are actually bad” and compared Prophet Mohammad to Osama bin Laden.

Yeah. Go ahead. Sue the bugger. He’s got like, 5 charges(?) on his head already, what’s another couple more?

But while we’re at it, would they mind explaining to this poor lost soul of mine which part exactly in those two articles that RPK wrote that “insulted” the Prophet and Islam? And where in the world did Osama bin Laden’s name crop up? For the life of me, I can’t see it.

But since they’re suing him for “insulting” Islam and the Prophet, perhaps they can also explain why they feel the need to “block” (not “censor”) Malaysia-Today? After all, the “reason” behind blocking access to the site was basically because RPK wrote articles that “insulted” Islam and the Prophet.

But then again, since no one is owning up to having given the directive to block access to MT, I’m guessing that no one really has the authoritive to lift the “ban” on Malaysia-Today.

*******

This was RPK’s response. So SO typical of him. He definitely has my support on this one.

“Is there something wrong with being anti-Islam? Are they aware that 80 per cent of the world is anti-Islam? Are they going to file reports against four to five billion citizens of the world?”

“I don’t give two hoots anymore” when asked if he felt this was another politically-motivated attack on him.

“I couldn’t be bothered anymore if they call me anti-Islam, anti-Malay, anti-Umno… they can call me anti-God, if they want,”


4 Comments on “The umpteenth police report against RPK”

  1. Paul Warren says:

    But Raja Petra is surely guilty of beig anti UMNO!! Now that is worse than being anti Malay, anti Muslims and anti Islam and anti Prophet Mohammad surely! Only that will activate all these police reports, right? UMNO is such a sacrosanct organisation or body. More so than Islam itself. That is why he is guilty for what ever it is that they decide. After all Raja only writes in English. Unless he is also secretly posting somethings in his rotten Bahasa elsewhere which he is not telling us about.

    But insulting Islam??? I actually have been waiting for him to accidently do that. But he keeps me waiting still. Bashing Muslims? Now amongst these Muslims I presume we also include Saddam Hussein, Idi Amin, Osama Bin Laden, rapists, paedophiles, incestous grandfathers, fathers, uncles and grand uncles. Or are Jakim trying to say that being Muslims these people should aslo not be insulted? Blimey, very soon we will hae to release almost 80% of our prisoners going by their reckoning.
    __________
    I reckon that a whole lot of us would be guilty of being anti-UMNO, no?

  2. jeff says:

    If a Malaysian is anti-UMNO, he or she is consider as enemy of Malaysia by those thugs. Obviously you have no idea about this fact, you must be at the early age of your life.

  3. walski69 says:

    As soon as I had read the report (via The Star), I went back and re-read both articles. Funny thing is, by no stretch of the imagination (and I have a very vivid one🙂 ) could I find anything remotely insulting to Islam or Prophet Muhammad. At least not in the articles RPK wrote.

    JAWI, JAKIM, Yayasan Dakwah Islamiah (YADIM), Federal Territory Islamic Religious Department and Federal Territories Ministry and the Federal Territory Islamic Council are all governmental or quasi-governmental bodies. This, to me, is a glaring indication that the government using the religion/race card to intimidate RPK, and in effect, the rest of the Malaysian bloggerhood, for their own survival. It has little, if any, to do with Islam per se (IMHO).

    By the way, Michelle, could you drop me an e-mail like sometime soon, ’cause there’s a great blog initiative I’ve been roped in to write a piece for, and I need someone to pass the baton to for the next post. I couldn’t think of anyone better to pass it to.😉
    ________
    Will do Walski. Am loading my email right this moment.

  4. bow says:

    Umno’s politic is always circle around “race n religion”, if they want to silent or put away any opponent or critic, all they have to do is to brand that person or organization anti-Malay or anti-Islam, then the beginning of a “sandiwara” like ISA, seditious, and others threat or massive protest to show the party is the defender of both, it’s such a predictive outcome whenever they loss Malay /muslim support n Malaysia.


Leave a Reply

