Why homophobia must end

Excerpts from Cake Eating Fool:

I am not gay. I am religious. I’m a Malaysian, and eventhough i’m a supporter of Barisan Nasional, i’m open minded and liberal. And I have something to say, both in my own defense and to the religious community that I am often thought to share offensive viewpoints with simply because I am a heterosexual, Muslim Malaysian.

[…]

They also taught me that Allah s.w.t. (God) made me, just the way I am. They told me that God loves me just the way I am. They told me that this was true of every single person in this world, even those who were different than I, even those who didn’t believe in God at all. They told me that God is compassionate, merciful, and that all love comes from God. That He wanted us to do our best to be like Him. To try and do what He would want. To forgive others the way we want Him to forgive us. To not judge others. To love one another.

[…]

I don’t know why my religion is becoming one of intolerance and hate. Or being represented so. I don’t know why gay people are having to bear this. I just know: I don’t want to be a part of it. And I don’t want people to think that just because I am a heterosexual Muslim, that I support what is being done to our gay community in any way at all. And I beg everyone, please reconsider what you are doing.

Read the entire blog post HERE.



Leave a Reply

