My email to the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development on the Penan issue

A couple of days ago, I suddenly remembered that a report on the investigations on the Penan rape cases was supposed to be due in December. Till this date, I have yet to read any update about the investigations.

Following that, I decided to send them an email. My email was as follows:

Pertama sekali, izinkan saya mengucapkan Selamat Tahun Baru 2009 kepada semua di Kementerian Pembangunan Wanita, Keluarga dan Masyarakat. Semoga semua sihat walafiat.

E-mel saya pada hari ini berkenaan dengan isu kes rogol kanak-kanak dan wanita orang Penan di Sarawak. Setahu saya, pihak kementerian telah menjalankan siasatan yang sewajarnya pada bulan November yang lepas. Menerusi suratkhabar, saya juga mendapat tahu bahawa pihak kementerian sepatutnya mendapat laporan lengkap tentang siasatan tersebut pada bulan Disember yang lepas.

Masuknya tahun yang baru ini, ingin saya tanyakan adakah laporan itu telah sampai ke pihak kementerian? Dan apakah kesimpulan yang didapati dari laporan tersebut? Adakah terdapat apa-apa langkah yang akan diambil oleh pihak kementerian?

Jika mungkin, saya berharap pihak kementerian akan membuat penyataan akhbar tentang kesimpulan kes ini supaya rakyat tidak dibiarkan dalam keadaan kegelapan.

Isu kes rogol orang Penan bukan isu yang kecil, dan saya berharap pihak kementerian akan memberi perhatian yang sepenuhnya untuk menyelesaikan isu ini.

Terima kasih saya ucapkan kepada pihak kementerian kerana telah mengambil masa untuk membaca e-mel saya ini.

I wouldn’t expect them to send me a reply. Nor do I know if anything will come out of this ONE email that is probably hidden in the many(?) they receive. But I’m keeping an eye out for a report of any sort pertaining to this issue, which I take to heart. And if any of the readers out there do come across anything, please do leave me a comment to let me know. Thank you.


One Comment on “My email to the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development on the Penan issue”

  1. Gadfly says:

    I do not know whether the follow-up email to the ministry will be treated seriously and not forgotten. But from my visit to an Orang Asli settlement in Northern Perak many years ago, I learnt that the Orang Asli is more like a forgotten people. So are their rights.

    I went there to buy a blowpipe. After showing me how to use it, we started to chat about the life in the jungle. I was quite startled by what he narrared.

    “The government doctors are supposed here 2 times in a year to give us medicine and treatment. At first, they came. Now, they don’t even show up. One year only 2 visits. Even that also they cannot do. What type of doctors!”, he said. There was much anger and hopelessness in his tone. There was a sense of being betrayed.

    The principles of the Hippocratic Oath are held sacred by doctors to treat the sick to the best of their ability.

    “I swear by Appollo Physician and Asclepius and Hygieia and Panaceia and all the gods and goddesses, making them my witness, that I will fulfill according to my ability and judgment this oath and this convenant:

    ….

    I will apply dietetic measures for the benefit of the sick ccording to my ability and judgment; I will keep them from harm and injustice…

    Whatever houses I may visit, I will come for the benefit of the sick…

    If I fulfill this oath and do not violate it, may it be granted to me enjoy life and art..; if I transgress it and swear falsely, may the opposite of all this be my lot…”

    I do not know why the Greek gods and godesses stopped or were stopped at the jungle fringes of the forgotten land.


Leave a Reply

