Politicking the church burnings

Walski left me a comment on my previous post about the church attacks, saying that the one thing that we should NOT do right now is speculate on who is responsible. I wholeheartedly agree, because politicking at a time like this helps none.

But I see that it is futile to even think that politicking might keep out of the way.

Immediately after I read that article on the church burnings, I read this on Malaysian Insider HERE:

Datuk Zaid Ibrahim today condemned Umno and urged the government to take full responsibility for the church attacks.

The title of the said article? “Pakatan wants UMNO to take responsibility for church attacks”

Look. I don’t care if you *think* that UMNO is responsible. But what the hell do you expect as a response from this accusation?

THIS, also from Malaysian Insider, is what comes in reply:

Hishammauddin also laughed off allegations made by Pakatan Rakyat that the Umno-led government should take responsibility for the spate of church attacks.

“If they want to blame us for the attacks, then the Pakatan Selangor government should take responsibility (because all the attacks happened in the state),” he said.

So what comes out of this? Another spat between the political parties over who should be held responsible.

Hello-o. We’re forgetting that *individuals* were involved here. I don’t care whether they are politicians, political party members, or kids who have been terribly misguided. The people responsible for the acts themselves have to be identified.

This is not a time to play politics. Sure, I’m naive and whatnot, seeing as how this whole issue was a political issue to start off with.

But if we want to get to the bottom of it, we’ve already taken a wrong turn.

P.S. And what’s this about using the ISA if need be? Again, I repeat. There has got to be enough laws in our country that allow the police to detain people who threaten to harm others, without resorting to using the ISA.


5 Comments on “Politicking the church burnings”

  1. Oxymoron says:

    If at the very end noone is arrested for the bombings, you KNOW who is responsible.

  2. Claire says:

    Please don’t be delusioned!!!Open your eyes!!we all know who is responsible!!

  3. Richard Loh says:

    The actions of the leaders are so flawed, how can anybody not be pointing the fingers at them?

    Please read the two speeches by PAS and umno Presidents one day after the Church bombing and the protest at the mosque and take this poll:

    Poll : Which Party Do You Trust And Are More Sincere When Talking About Islam To The Non Muslim Malaysians

  4. Mohd Ghazali Osman says:

    Please, let warm hearts and cool minds prevail. Let us not make matters worse. I know many have issues for and against the current develoments in the country but please remember that there is a bigger issue we should be concerned about. The issue is Malaysia. What do we want the country to be? Do we want to live in peace and harmony or do we want racial strives and political upheavals to rule our daily lives? I am a Malaysian. I was born in Kuala Kangsar, Perak some 63 years ago. I am a Muslim. What I want for Malaysia is peace and harmony for my children, grand children (I have three)and for generations to come. Iknow it is not impossible if only all Malaysians set their minds to make it work. I am old. I don’t care much about politics now. One day all of you will be like me too. I have seen them all. Some I like and some I don’t. I have gone through five Prime Ministers. Each one has his own style of governing the country. In fact, one former Deputy Prime Minister was a form mate at school too. He is still going strong and clever than me and two years younger at that (I don’t know how we got to be form mates. One of us must have cheated on our ages!) What I want most is our country to be at peace and peoples live in harmony. As I said, it is not impossible if only we put our hearts and minds together and make it work. So, how about it, Fellow Malaysians? Thank you.

  5. Paul Warren says:

    Before all this two who admitted desecrating the holy sacrament of Christians were purportedly investigated. Nothing came of it. Burning of buildings in which Christians congregate to pray is really no great tragedy or hurting to the Christian unlike the desecration that not only happened, but was gleefully reported on in a Home Ministry licensed publication, and the picture published of the blessed bread that was put into the mouths of these Malay Muslims who by so doing probably thought themselves to be doing great heroic work for the Muslim cause.

    No, my dear, this is not done by individuals. this is the work of a concerted effort to make sure when they go to the Court of Appeal, the government will be able to tell the judges “I told You So”. So you can expect that this will go on until at least the Appeal case is heard and decided.


Leave a Reply

